Jules Buckley

Jules Buckley

Composer, orchestrator and conductor Jules Buckley has made a name for himself as one of Europe's most in-demand conductors of hip contemporary orchestral projects.

Currently the Chief Conductor of Holland’s renowned Metropole Orkest and the Musical Director of the UK’s Heritage Orchestra, his daring approach to crossing and linking musical genres has brought him widespread acclaim. Here is a selection of his work in the spring and summer of 2015, which includes concerts at: Holland Festival, Robeco SummerNights, North Sea Jazz Festival, David Byrne’s Meltdown, Edinburgh Festival and the BBC Proms.

Concerts with Snarky Puppy

Jules Buckley conducted Snarky Puppy’s orchestral project and the live album, Sylva, recorded with Metropole Orkest, has just been released. The celebration continues with live performances across Europe in May:

Thursday 30 April and Friday 1 May: Rotterdamse Schouwburg with Metropole Orkest
Wednesday 6 May: Stavanger konserthus, Zetlitz, with Stavanger Symphony Orchestra as part of Maijazz

Thursday 7 May: Theater L’Olympia, Paris, with Metropole Orkest

Friday 8 May: Marcel-Hélie Hall (SMH), Coutances, with Metropole Orkest as part of Jazz sous les Pommiers

Concerts with Laura Mvula

The British singer Laura Mvula had an overwhelming hit with her debut album Sing to the Moon, which has been reinterpreted by the Metropole Orkest. Jules Buckley will conduct two concerts with Laura and the Metropole this summer.

Saturday 27 Jun: Royal Concertgewbouw with Metropole Orkest as part of Robeco SummerNights

Sunday 12 Jul: Ahoy' Horeca B.V. with Metropole Orkest and Consensus Vocalis choir, as part of North Sea Jazz Festival

Concerts with Anna Calvi

Anna Calvi is famed for her operatic song, virtuoso guitar playing and theatrical stage presence, and is teaming up with Jules Buckley and both the Metropole Orkest and the Heritage Orchestra in concerts this summer.

Saturday 20 June: Concertgebouw, Amsterdam, with Metropole Orkest

Tuesday 18 - Thursday 20 August: The Hub, Edinburgh, with Heritage Orchestra

Saturday 22 August: Queen Elizabeth Hall, with Heritage Orchestra as part of David Byrne’s Meltdown.  
Tickets on sale from 8 May 2015

Concerts with Goldie

Drum and bass icon and contemporary/graffiti artist Goldie is back with The Heritage Orchestra, to perform Timeless live.  He and the Heritage Orchestra and Jules Buckley have expanded and reworked the tracks for full orchestra, band, choir, electronics, and guest vocalists.
Wednesday 22 & Thursday 23 July: Royal Festival Hall, with Heritage Orchestra as part of David Byrne’s Meltdown.

Concerts with Gregory Porter

As part of an ongoing creative partnership, Jules Buckley will conduct Gregory Porter and the Metropole Orkest in six shows across the summer.
Wednesday 1 July: Zitadelle, Berlin
Thursday 2 July: Bluetone Festival, Straubing
Friday 3 July: Tollwood Festival, München
Saturday 4 July: Loreley Freilichtbuhne, St. Goarshausen
Thursday 9 July: Jazz Open, Stuttgart, with Diane Reeves
Saturday 25 July: Sparkassen-Arena, Kiel, as part of Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival

Concerts at the BBC Proms

Jules Buckley returns to the BBC Proms, conducting two late night concerts.

Wednesday 29 July: Late Night with …BBC Radio 1 with Heritage Orchestra, Pete Tong (presenter)

Wednesday 12 August: Late Night with … BBC Radio 1Extra with Metropole Orkest, MistaJam and Sian Anderson (presenters) and Wretch 32 (rapper), Krept & Konan (rap duo), and Chip (rapper)

For more information see: